Digging Deeper


Digging Deeper
, exclusive and site-specific programs—including informal talks, tours, and demonstrations with experts of every stripe—invites Open Days participants to take a closer look at the garden world. The idea is to dig deep and have fun!

Digging Deeper programs require additional fees and advance registration through the links on each event or by calling the Garden Conservancy at 845.424.6500, M-F, 9-5 Eastern.

2022 Digging Deeper Programs
Please note: hyperlinks will be added for each event below, as they open for registration

Saturday, May 21 ǀ Making a Garden, Leaving a Trace ─ An Afternoon Salon for Gardeners, with Fred Bland ǀ New Haven, CT

Sunday, May 22 ǀ Croquet and Cocktails: Preserving and Restoring Sporting Greens, with Georgia Lee ǀ Milton, MA

Sunday, May 29 ǀ Thoroughly Modern Westport: From Stage to Garden, with Matty Selman, Robert Cohen, and Emily Blau ǀ Westport, CT

Saturday, June 4 ǀ Combos for Cohesion, Echoes that Resound, with Tovah Martin and Glenn Hillman ǀ Litchfield, CT

Sunday, June 5 ǀ Creating a Cottage Garden from Scratch, with Hope Alswang and Laura Willson ǀ Providence, RI

Sunday, June 5 ǀ In Full Bloom with Teri Cole, with Teri Cole ǀ Bainbridge Island, WA

Saturday, June 11 ǀ Foxgloves at Kentford Farm, with Paul Coutu ǀ Stonington, CT

Saturday, June 11 ǀ Rooted in Place: An Architect’s Garden in the Country, with Larry Wente ǀ Millerton, NY

Saturday, June 11 ǀ Creating the Canvas: The Making of Dragonfly Farm, with Cheryl Brickman ǀ Mequon, WI

Saturday, June 18 ǀ A Rose is Never Just a Rose – Plants in Community, with Mathew McDowell ǀ Pound Ridge, NY

Saturday, June 18 ǀ Landscape in Translation: Arts & Crafts Ideals in the 21st Century, with Gail Read and Betsy Ekholm ǀ Bristol, RI

Saturday, June 25 ǀ The Secret Lives of Plants: Unusual Histories and Unique Adaptations, with Martin Cline ǀ Stinson Beach, CA

Saturday, June 25 ǀ An Artist’s Living Tapestry, with Maude Odgers ǀ Peterborough, NH

Saturday, July 30 ǀ Unearthing the Stories of Sylvester Manor, with Donnamarie Barnes and Sara Gordon ǀ Shelter Island, NY

Saturday, August 6 ǀ The Low Maintenance Garden, with Andrew Grossman ǀ Seekonk, MA

Sunday, August 14 ǀ Creating a Mountaintop Meadow at Scribner’s Lodge, with Andrew Koehn ǀ Hunter, NY

Saturday, August 20 ǀ The Garden Gone Wild, with Sally Edgett ǀ Fox Point, WI

Sunday, August 21 | The Garden Gone Wild, with Sally Edgett | Fox Point, WI

Saturday, August 27 ǀ Developing an Arts and Crafts Garden, with Jeanne Farewell, Brewster, NY

Sunday, September 4 | Long Hill Garden: Marrying the Past to the Present, with The Trustees' Director of Horticulture, Joan Viera, Beverly, MA

Saturday, September 10 | The History of Greenwood Gardens: Presentation and Guided Walking Tour, with Greenwood Gardens, Short Hills, NJ

Saturday, September 17 | Designing for Nature-Keeping: A Garden's Commitment without Losing its Looks with Edwina von Gal - CANCELLED East Hampton, NY

Saturday, September 17 | Growing, Cutting, and Arranging: Flowers for the Garden and Home, with Frances Palmer, Weston, CT

Saturday, September 17 | "When Every Leaf is a Flower":  Form and Color in the Autumn Garden, with Ann K. Bryant, Saugerties, NY

Friday, September 23 | "The Biggest Little Tour", with Apricot Lane Farms

Saturday, September 24 | Organic Soil Management - CANCELLED with Lee Reich, New Paltz, NY

Saturday, September 24 | The Arnold Arboretum by Design, with The Arnold Arboretum, Boston, MA

Saturday, October 15 | Pruning Conifers, with Byron and Hazel Richards, Hendersonville, NC

Saturday, October 29 | Power of Place at Manitoga: Garden and Home of Russel Wright, with The Russel Wright Design Center, Garrison, NY